Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Wellington homepage

2018 Annual Awards

The 2018 Annual Awards celebrated 7 service, 2 volunteer contributor and 9 swimmer and coaches awards.

Lewis Clareburt was the biggest winner on the night as he took home 3 awards for a prolific 2017/18 season which saw him take a Bronze Medal at the Commonwealth Games in the 400 IM and also clock up an eye opening 33 Wellington records this year.

His partnership with Gary Hollywood was also recognised as Hollywood took home 2 coaches awards for the season. Three more coaches awards were handed out to Tyler Stevens, for his success at Junior events this year, Aidan Withington, who returned from NAGs with the most successful Wellington club team and Richard Peterson, who was recognised for his dedication and support in volunteering his time at PCA.

Swimming Wellington and SZR's 'Mr Reliable', Noel Stevens, won the Club Contributor of the Year Award for his commitment to club and regional meets over the year.

Mary Fisher and Chelsey Edwards rounded off the swimmer awards with Mary winning the Swimmer of the Year with a Disability for her performances at SNZ Opens and Chelsey winning the Age Group Swimmer of the Year for her 11 records throughout the season, her performances at NAGs and selection for Junior Pan Pacs.

Kayla Imrie provided some intriguing insights into the highs and lows of chasing Olympic success and her journey from Tawa Club Swimmer to 5th place in the Women's K-4 500 metres event at Rio 2016. 

Chelsey Edwards and Lewis ClareburtKayla Imrie

Full list of Regional award winners

Life   Honours   Service  
Henrietta Latham Raumati Graham Seagull PCA Seuga Frost Kapiti
Mark Berge Capital Greg Forsythe Capital Mike Heath SZR
Craig Marsters SZR
Club Contributor of the Year   Volunteer Coach of the Year    
Noel Stevens SZR Richard Peterson PCA    
Junior Coach of the Year   Age Group Coach of the Year    
Tyler Stevens SZR Aidan Withington Capital  
Opens Coach of the Year   Coach of the Year      
Gary Hollywood  Capital Gary Hollywood Capital  
Swimmer of the Year with a Disability Best Individual Performance
Mary Fisher Capital Lewis Clareburt Capital
Selectors Trophy Age Group Swimmer of the Year
Lewis Clareburt Capital Chelsey Edwards SZR
Swimmer of the Year
Lewis Clareburt Capital