Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Wellington homepage

2020 Swimming Wellington Awards

2020 Swimming Wellington Awards

On December 3rd the region celebrated the achievements of the swimmers, coaches and club members who put in the hard yards in 2020. 

Service Awards

Kirsten Johnson (RAUMATI)       Marco Cecioni (RAUMATI)       Murray Pugh (PCA)       Sharon Pippos (CAPITAL)

      Honours Award

Sandy Turner (RAUMATI)   

        Life Award

Ian McDonald (HATAITAI)


Pictured: Marco Cecioni                                                                    Pictured: Vivian Morton & Ian McDonald

A year like no other saw national meets cancelled but 3 Regional Championships (Inclusive of Junior champs 2019), a Junior Festival, National Short Course and Secondary Schools, along with a host of well planned and executed club meets take place. Congratulations to all those who performed throughout the year and to those who kept things running during a 3 month lockdown and dealt with the consequent event restrictions and regulations.

Coach Awards

Junior Coach of the Year: Steven Zhu (PCA)   

Age Group Coach of the Year: Andre Kudaba (CAPITAL)   

Opens Coach of the Year: Gary Hollywood (CAPITAL) 

Coach of the Year: Steven Zhu (PCA)


Pictured: Andre Kudaba                                                                    Pictured: Martyn Newman Hall & Steven Zhu

Swimmer Awards

Swimmer with a Disability: Erin Knox (SZR)

Best Individual Performance: Chelsey Edwards (CAPITAL)

Selectors Trophy: Bronson Lloyd (TAWA)

Age Group Swimmer of the Year: Sam Brown (CAPITAL)

Junior Swimmer of the Year: Charlie Dickison (CAPITAL)   

Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Ruby Heath (CAPITAL)

Swimmer of the Year: Sam Brown (CAPITAL)


Pictured: Bronson Lloyd                                                                    Pictured: Ruby Heath

Club Awards

Club Contributor of the Year: Joe O’Callaghan (CAPITAL)   

Tier 1 Series winners: Porirua City Aquatics

Club of the Year: Tawa Swimming Club


Pictured: Joe O'Callaghan                                                                    Pictured: Darren Yeldon & Bronson Lloyd